The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History

The judges for the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History are pleased to announce this year's short list of finalists for the 2018 Sidewise Awards. The winners will be announced on October 15, 2019.

Finalists for
Best Short-Form Alternate History

Rick Wilber. "The Secret City"
In Asimov's Science Fiction Sept./Oct. 2018.

Oscar (Xiu) Ramirez & Emmanuel Valtierra.
Codex Valtierra


Finalists for
Best Long-Form Alternate History

Mary Robinette Kowal. The Calculating Stars
Tor 2018

Hannu Rajaniemi. Summerland
Gollancz 2018, Tor 2018

Charles Rosenberg.
The Trial and Execution of the Traitor George Washington

Hanover Square 2018

Lavie Tidhar. Unholy Land
Tachyon 2018

The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year's panel of judges included Karen Hellekson, Matt Mitrovich, Jim Rittenhouse, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Please address all inquiries and correspondence to the awards secretary, Steven Silver.